.help me find the balance

“Guide me in your truth and teach me,
for you are God my Savior,
and my hope is in you all day long.(v5)
Guard my life and rescue me;
let me not be put to shame,
for I take refuge in you.(v20)”

God is good.

UNI
For a warm-up round, we were given 3 quick projects: The Internal Landscape (photographically communicating a narrative/ studio set-up), The First Sight (documentary relating to the ‘new chapter of our lives’), The Brief Encounters (street photography/ creating a typological portrait).



If I was given more time, none of these projects would look as they do in their final state. Nevertheless, I think I can say I am quite happy with the results. For the amount of time, its not bad.
Quickly about all 3 projects.
.internal landscape Based on Ephesians5:13-14. But everything exposed by the light becomes visible, for it is light that makes everything visible. The light filling the vessel (bottle) makes its impurities visible, brings them up/ the closer to God you are, the more you realize how much you need Him. I confused this clear idea slightly using wrong colours and an unnecessary element in my final image, blaaah. Anyways, I think I will go back to that theme one day.
.the first sight Key words: documentary, subjective, not-detached, story-telling, words, text, commenting, metaphorical, sarcastic, double meanings. Using an old good-night poem (Good night, sleep tight, don’t let the bed bugs bite…) I am making a comment/ I point towards the issue of homelessness and violence in this area. Yep yep.
.brief encounters For this I worked with Trev. His idea was to photographs interesting characters which was fair enough, I wanted to take photos of people eating in caffes. We sort of went with both ideas at once, got some nice images but I wouldn’t say they work great together. Still, great experience. We shot on Mamiya (6×7).

I wanted to scan the negatives but it just didn’t happen, no time! But no complaining either. It’s just a busy season of life.

Leave a Reply

