red chested little fella

The other day (last Tuesday to be exact), after a more-less wasted morning and early afternoon, I decided to pull myself together and finally do something. I went for a walk. I wanted to take some photos in the cathedral (it was sunny as I was leaving the home), but by the time I got there the sky was tightly covered with clouds and the inside of the cathedral looked rather gloomy. I decided that instead, I will go to the cathedral’s garden and -maybe- take some photos of birds. And so I did. And to my surprise and joy, the little, fat robin-fella turned up! The most sociable little bird I’ve ever met. This Tuesday encounter wasn’t our first one, but it was the first one whilst I had my camera with me, too. It was such good fun! He would sit in one place and sit there until i take the photo (it wasn’t that he would run away at the sound of the shutter though) and then fly over to another spot, maybe 1 meter away and sit there until i take another photo… and so on. Quite amazing. He also started singing quietly at some point… Made my day (:



And as we’re on the subject of birds and photography I feel compelled to recommend the work of Jean Luc Mylayne. An amazing bird-photographer, who instead of using a range of bad ass telephoto lenses, watches his little models for long periods of time and develops a relationship with them so that in time, he is able to predict where they’re going to sit and how they’re going to behave. His pictures are really really nice.

3 comments
  1. walnut72 said:

    Really lovely, the sun is out and my camera is raring to go!!!

    • Ha ha, great! 🙂 we should all gather together one day (whoever will be up for it) and spend an afternoon taking photos in some nice place. Maybe some sunny Sunday afternoon?
      I love sunny afternoons!!!

      • That actually sounds like a great idea, I have just bought a book – digital photography for dummies!! I plan to get a proper SLR camera when I have got the hang of the one I have now

Leave a Reply

